IEEE P802.15 Wireless Personal Area Networks

| Project | IEEE P802.15 Working Group for Wireless Personal Area Networks (WPANs) | | |
|----------------|---|---------------------------|--|
| Title | Minutes of the Ballot Resolution Committee (BRC) Teleconference | | |
| Date Submitted | 23 Feb, 2009 | | |
| Source | [Chin-Sean Sum] [NICT] | Voice: Fax: E-mail: | [+81-46-847-5092] [+81-46-847-5440] [sum@nict.go.jp] |
| Re: | 802.15.3c Teleconference Meeting | | |
| Abstract | IEEE 802.15 Task Group TG3c Ballot Resolution | | |
| Purpose | Resolution to Comments for TG3c Draft Standard | | |
| Notice | This document has been prepared to assist the IEEE P802.15. It is offered as a basis for discussion and is not binding on the contributing individual(s) or organization(s). The material in this document is subject to change in form and content after further study. The contributor(s) reserve(s) the right to add, amend or withdraw material contained herein. | | |
| Release | The contributor acknowledges and accepts that this contribution becomes the property of IEEE and may be made publicly available by P802.15. | | |

Minutes of the Ballot Resolution Committee (BRC) Teleconference

Date: 23 Feb 2009, 9am in JST

BRC Attendees:

James Gilb (SiBeam), Shuzo Kato, Hiroshi Harada (NICT), Chiu Ngo (Samsung)

BRC Absentees:

Ismail Lakkis (Tensorcom), Bruce Bosco (No affiliation)

Observers:

Reed Fisher (Oki), Raymond Yu (Panasonic), Yasunao Katayama (IBM), Makoto Noda, Hiroyuki Yamagishi, Keitarou Kondou (Sony), Steve Pope (No affiliation), Akio Iso, Chang Woo Pyo, Fumihide Kojima, Mohammad Azizur Rahman, Tuncer Baykas (NICT)

Recording secretary:

Chin-Sean Sum (NICT)

Decision of BRC:

- 1. To reject the comments raised by the two no-voters (Christopher Hansen from Broadcom and Richard Roberts from Intel) in LB49
- 2. To forward draft standard D06 (P802-15-3c-D06_Draft_Amendment.pdf) to the sponsor ballot without any further modifications

Action Items:

- 1 To prepare a summary of the comments raised by no-voters and related resolutions
 - 1.1 Shuzo Kato and Chiu Ngo will prepare the list for the BRC by 25th Feb
- 2 To contact and remind no-voters to switch their votes if satisfied with D06
 - 2.1 Reed Fisher will email or telephone the no-voters based on the list provided by Shuzo Kato and Chiu Ngo

Discussions:

- 1 TG3c Technical editor James Gilb summarized the comments from the no-voters in the 3rd recirculation ballot LB49
 - 1.1 Remove OOK/DAMI by Christopher Hansen
 - 1.2 Unify two OFDM PHYs by Christopher Hansen and Richard Roberts
 - 1.3 Remove Unequal Error Protection skewed constellation by Christopher Hansen
 - 1.4 Mandate Common Mode Signaling for all devices by Richard Roberts

- 2 James Gilb opened the floor for discussion on the comments from the no-voters.
 - 2.1 The BRC has reached unanimous consent on rejecting all the comments listed in 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 and 1.4.
 - 2.2 The rejection of the comments is done based on the reasons listed in doc. 09/008r8: LB48 comments.xls
- 3 The BRC will forward its decision to TG3c workgroup in the Vancouver IEEE meeting to forward D06 to sponsor ballot without further modifications
- 4 James Gilb summarized the 11 comments raised by a yes-voter Amal Ekbal (Qualcomm) in 09/104r1. These comments will be discussed in Vancouver.